Honda 599 Forum

Go Back   Honda 599 Forum > General Community > Repair and Maintenance

Repair and Maintenance Questions and answers about repairing and maintaining your beloved Hornet.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 09:54 AM   #21
motorico
Senior Member
 
motorico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 4,938
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

All of this bickering just brings this to mind.

__________________
Team Henson
motorico is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-11-2012, 07:53 PM   #22
xxxyyy599
Senior Member
 
xxxyyy599's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motorico View Post
All of this bickering just brings this to mind.

Haha, I like it. Problem is, I'm a girl ...
__________________
Disclaimer: Just because my user name includes the letters X and Y doesn't mean I'm a dude.
I am, in fact, a girl.

www.freeranging.net
xxxyyy599 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 08:41 PM   #23
CD599
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Conley, Georgia
Posts: 211
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

Cychotic is correct. When you adjust those screws....one buttrerfly opens and the other butterfly closes. Thus you are adjusting both carbs with one screw.
CD599 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 05:52 AM   #24
370steve
Senior Member
 
370steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: uk (england)
Posts: 2,868
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

So far you are all correct on some things but wrong on others!!
but of you all cychotic is the closest to the truth.

3 is unadjustable period! screw between 3 & 4 adjusts 4 too 3, adjusting this screw DOES NOT move 3.
screw between 1 & 2 adjusts 1, it has no affect on 2.
screw between 2 & 3 adjusts 2, it has NO affect on 3, but being linked to 1 also MOVES that at the same time.

carb 3 is the refference, it dont matter what reading it has! the aim is to have "all carbs showing the same as 3 = ballance"

this statement is correct........
#3 is the reference and cannot be adjusted.
#4 is reference to #3, and is adjusted by the right (between 3 & 4) screw.
#2 is reference to #3, and is adjusted by the middle (between 2 & 3) screw.
#1 is reference to #2, and is adjusted by the screw between 1 & 2 (this is last one to be done after 4 to 3 then 2 to 3)

xxxyyy599 is overcomplicating the theory with the overadjustment/ underadjustment thing!! just remember that 3 is the reference (think of it as the "Target") and you will always adjust 4 too 3, as ballance is done above normal idle speed #3 butterfly will be slightly open and if adjusting #4 has an affect on #3 then you are well out of adjustment!!


the springs between the carb butterfly shaft joints are to keep the shaft parts firmly together under pressure so they move together and dont have any free play. they are not adjusted in anyway when you adjust the balance screws.


(steps back, takes cover and awaits "incoming")
__________________
370Steve

Last edited by 370steve; 08-16-2012 at 09:30 AM.
370steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 06:44 AM   #25
370steve
Senior Member
 
370steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: uk (england)
Posts: 2,868
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

PS, it dont realy matter as long as you get them ballanced, however you achive it lol!
__________________
370Steve
370steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 09:14 AM   #26
Sundog
Senior Member
 
Sundog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,757
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

Quote:
Originally Posted by 370steve View Post
PS, it dont realy matter as long as you get them ballanced, however you achive it lol!
+1

but I updated my writeup so people know that both the center and the left screw will effect the adjustment for carb #1.
Sundog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 01:05 PM   #27
dabinche
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Jose
Posts: 1,208
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

yes adjust starting with 4 then 2 then 1...that is how I did mine
dabinche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 02:28 PM   #28
dgs22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wheaton, IL
Posts: 24
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

Nice...more info for the winter project.

Thanks
__________________
2006 Honda 599
dgs22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 07:11 AM   #29
ken99287
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 175
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxyyy599 View Post
Haha, I like it. Problem is, I'm a girl ...
That's funny! I thought from the three x's and three y's, you were saying you're three times the man! Haha! (Well its actually opposite in birds, says wikipedia... xx is a boy bird and xy is girl bird...)

Who would have known?!

That's cool though, a girl who rides and does her own work!

Now I gotta get on syncing those carbs!

I'm getting a weird low/no power symptom in very low rpms and it kinda chugs along in the low rpms... maybe in the very low rpms (when inconsistencies in Carb sync are likely most noticeable?) a cylinder or a couple cylinders aren't getting the same amount of fuel??? I don't know, but a sync wouldn't hurt!

Anyone in the Pittsburgh area want to help or at least let me borrow the sync tool?

Last edited by ken99287; 10-22-2012 at 07:18 AM.
ken99287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 12:10 AM   #30
cychotic
Senior Member
 
cychotic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,305
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

I just got a new idea on balancing the carbs. I recently took off my carbs and took a look at the butterfly flaps. I noticed that I can visually see that they are open exactly the same amount using the holes as guides. I tried to turn the adjustment screws by a quarter turn, and I instantly see the difference. I wonder if we can just use a shim to 'feel' how close are the butterfly flaps? Kindda like adjusting values. I wonder if that's a viable method to get the carbs balanced?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words, but an equation is worth infinite reasons." -cychotic
cychotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 06:47 AM   #31
slippy
Senior Member
 
slippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,078
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

That would only be viable if the relationship between butterfly position and pressure in the chamber was the same for each carb. It might be in theory, but in practice things aren't always perfect.
slippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 08:16 AM   #32
Sundog
Senior Member
 
Sundog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,757
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

If you or someone else botched the job though, and the valves are all over the place, it might be a good place to start adjustments.
Sundog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 09:41 PM   #33
cychotic
Senior Member
 
cychotic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,305
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

Well, I would say it is definitely a good starting point because I did just that and I got pretty decent result. I am sure they are not perfect until I actually balance them the proper way though. But judging by my result, I may not care to balance them any better since it is just for idle anyways.

http://www.honda599.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14220
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words, but an equation is worth infinite reasons." -cychotic
cychotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 04:34 PM   #34
edintheclouds
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 17
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

Right, I have 23,000 miles on my '06. Does this ever really need to be done? I mean they can't really move at all so as long as they were set properly from the factory they should be fine right?
edintheclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 09:43 AM   #35
Sundog
Senior Member
 
Sundog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,757
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

Doesn't have to be done, but mechanical things do work themselves out of spec. Mine was, although I had more miles at the time than you do now. If you don't have any issues, I wouldn't worry about it yet, although there is a very small chance you aren't getting an equal amount of power out of each cylinder.
Sundog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 08:07 AM   #36
usspeedup2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 7
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

Hello guys!
since i have a trouble connecting the vacuums to ports 2 and 3, i did a drawing on how my systemm looks like.
Even with me Service manual they dont explain very clear.
Help me to understand what gauges I need to disconnect and where to connect the vacuum sync tool intakes ports 1 and 4 are easy , but 2 and 3 are not.

carbsynccb599.jpg
usspeedup2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2017, 06:17 AM   #37
usspeedup2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 7
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

Any help ?
usspeedup2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 06:17 AM   #38
Sundog
Senior Member
 
Sundog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,757
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

The problem I'm having helping you is that I can't explain what to do any better than the full write-up in my first post. If you have a specific question, especially with a picture to help explain your problem, I can help.
Sundog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 07:35 AM   #39
usspeedup2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 7
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

Hi,
I've included a drawing. Its about the cylinder 2 and 3. I've made a drawing because its difficult to explain
usspeedup2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 07:57 AM   #40
Sundog
Senior Member
 
Sundog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,757
Default Re: How to synchronize carbs on 599

I think I understand your issue. The tube that you labeled solenoid cutoff is for the PAIR valve I believe, and as far as I can tell you can leave it disconnected while testing. The only vacuum tube you need to keep connected is the one leading to the tank, which needs a vacuum to keep the fuel flowing. However, if you rig up a separate temporary gas supply that is also not needed.

As a side note, do you only have two vacuum gauges? If so that will make things more difficult. Remember that all the vacuum ports need to be either connected to something or plugged, or the engine won't idle correctly.
Sundog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.